Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Please tell me I'm not crazy for wanting a 6.0 PSD!!

9K views 72 replies 29 participants last post by  RandawgVO 
#1 ·
I'm pretty new to diesels......so I've been doing my homework and researching them them for the last 6+ months. I want to get rid of my 04' Dodge Ram 1500 Hemi and step up to a 3/4 ton diesel. I've recently upgraded the size of my camper...and my boat, and my old Dodge struggles to pull it. It sits in the shop most of the time...but gets used 4-5 times a month to tow something...that's it. Based off of that...I cant' even start to justify a new $60k+ diesel truck.

After looking around at all of the options that are out there on the used market, and comparing that to my budget ($16,000 or less would be nice).....it puts me right in the neighborhood of the 03'-07' 6.0 F250's....which I've read ride better, have nicer interiors, are built better, and will make just as much power as the Cummins and Duramax's if tuned right..........but you have to deal with all of the infamous 6.0 durability issues. I'm ok with this....I have a big shop and I like working on motors. I've rebuild transmissions, motors, and everything in between.

I've found several nice 05'-07' 6.0 F250 quad cabs for around $14-$16,000 with around 150,000-200,000 miles on them.

I'm just haveing a hell of a hard time pulling the trigger on one in fear of getting it home and have all kinds of issues.....which if you read all the stuff on the internet, it exactly what happens to everyone who owns a 6.0 PSD :crazys:

Are the 6.0's really the "could break down at any second" motors that people say they are? I will be using this truck for strictly towing my camper and boat on really long road trips with my family....reliability is HUGE concern for me........am I crazy for wanting an F250 with a 6.0??

I figure this would be the place to get some encouragement to go out and buy one :wink:

See less See more
#34 ·
Yep, that is the one.