LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 05-07-2017, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
Syd
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New here

I just posted about an oil leak but wanted to just post about my truck. Im new to the diesel world. This is my first ever. Its a 2004 Excursion 4x4 Limited. I bought it used about a year ago. The truck had about 220k when i bought it. Runs fantastic. The truck appears to be a totally stock example. No tuners or mods whatsover. Thats the way i like it though. I personally dont need any more power than what this truck has. I didnt get any records with the vehicle but i got a heck of a deal and couldnt pass it up. Ive done a long trip in it that was 4000 miles roundtrip. On the way back was hauling 6000 pounds of classic car and trailer. Truck performed flawlessly. Fuel mileage is actually better than i expected from an almost 8000 pound rig. My only plans for mods are new tires which i plan on going to a 285 a/t instead of the 265. Im gonna run these until needed though. Also a front mount hitch. Other than that im just gonna drive it. I change the oil every 5000 with Motorcraft filter and Walmart 15 40 heavy duty diesel oil. I hope i dont get much flak about my oil choice. Ive used the Walmart brand in many vehicles through the years without an issue. Its also under 10 bucks a gallon which is nice. Ive purchased fuel filters but have yet to install. I will look up the interval on that. Anyways thanks for reading.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 05-07-2017, 05:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Read up on HEUI injectors and why the 6.0L has stiction issues. IMO it isn't so much engine lubrication as it is injector longevity that requires the need for a quality synthetic oil.

You didn't want oil feedback, but oh well.

oil change interval is a max of 7500 miles (most go 5000).