Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum (https://www.powerstroke.org/forum/)
-   General 6.0L Discussion (https://www.powerstroke.org/forum/general-6-0l-discussion/)
-   -   So I'm in the market for another 6.0.. (https://www.powerstroke.org/forum/general-6-0l-discussion/1135849-so-im-market-another-6-0-a.html)

ShiZor9 06-05-2016 05:22 PM

So I'm in the market for another 6.0..

8 Attachment(s)
And all I come across is junk. Or gold plated trucks in the high teens to mid 20's. No thanks.

I've looked at 5 at dealers and all but one was junk or needing $1800 in various fixes off the lot. The next best thing is a dealership claiming they are "bulletproofing" trucks and they still have EGR and TTY bolts..

I'm not in a rush but I've been shopping for 6+ months with nothing I've fallen for.

Just wanted to vent and show everyone this "BP'ed" truck:

Big Boy Hot Rods

ChrisSki 06-05-2016 06:01 PM

I'm totally convinced that with the excursion I'm looking for, that I will buy a good one expensive like you said, or buy cheaper and have to bulletproof it myself.

After having "Bulletproofed" one 6.0, I prefer to do what I can myself, and send it off for the rest. I am a little reluctant at getting a "Bulletproofed" 6.0 for the same reasons you said about Bulletproofing meaning different things to different people.

The undercarriage of the truck you pictured looks good. No oil spots. I did notice it was 4WD without the FX4 package. Not quite sure what the FX4 package adds.

Canadian Mind 06-05-2016 06:20 PM

Skid plates for the transfer case and fuel tank.

To me the underbody looks like it was painted with tremclad. That box looks like garbage as well.

what brand of exhaust?

G8orFord 06-05-2016 07:00 PM