Hissing Sound ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 05-12-2019, 10:50 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hissing Sound ?

Let me start like I start all my post. I am new to the diesel world so I am sorry of this is a stupid question.
I have an 01 and when accelerating and holding the gas down under load ( like a hill pull or incline where I am accelerating) I get a hissing sound from under the hood. It’s pretty loud and can hear it over the radio if it’s on. It stops when I release gas pedal. My truck does have a cold air filter kit, not sure of the brand. Is this hissing normal and do these trucks have a blow off valve for the turbos and would that be what I am hearing. Also when the truck shift through gears normally I get the noise of hissing or released air when the truck switches up to the next gear.

I am definitely not complaining about the noise because it sounds kind of good like a blow off valve but weird that it makes the noise under heavy acceleration also. Just want to make sure what I am hearing is normal.

Truck has a hydra chip installed but it was on there when I got the truck.

Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 05-12-2019, 11:37 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
That's the turbo spooling.

2000 7.3 4x4 CC, short box, 205,000 miles.
PHP Hydra, Bilstein 5100's, Bilstein steering stabilizers, Auto Meter 3 gauge pod--EGT, Trans Temp & Boost, DieselSite 203*, Riffraff Billet wheel, 4" turbo back MBRP 5" straight pipe, Deep Trans Pan, Rotella ELC and T6 oil, Donaldson 6637, 20" Fuel wheels wrapped with 37" MT's
Security: Ravelco (for the pro's), Viper (for the rookies), The Club 1100 Steering Wheel Lock (visual deterrent).
post #3 of 15 Old 05-12-2019, 04:06 PM Thread Starter