15*vs17* - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 03-05-2018, 11:43 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
15*vs17*

Let me start by saying im new to diesels and im try to learn as i work on my 99 f350, so please bare with me.

Is there a way to tell if I have a 15* or 17* hpop by looking? I was told by the previous owner that the motor was out of a 98 truck (truck was running and driving after swap). The fuel bowl isn't bolted down and the hpop reservoir doesn't have the holes in it for the fuel bowl bolt to go through. But the truck won't start right now and someone has been in it messing with a bunch of stuff and I'm wondering if they didn't put a older style 94-97 reservoir on a 99 hpop and if that could be part of my issue, which is I'm not showing any icp pressure,

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 03-06-2018, 05:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Have you tried disconnecting the ICP sensor connector. Check if their is oil in it? The PCM will then default to 725 HPOP psi. It should start with that. Have you checked how much oil is in the reservoir? All superdutyies had a 17 degree HPOP. That being said, it will run fine if someone put a 15 degree unit on it. At this point I would suspect the IPR; get one from a salvage yard or rebuild it. If it starts then? I would buy a motorcraft IPR to install and keep the salvage unit for an emergency spare.

If it dosen't start after all this? I would crack open the easiest line to get at on the HPOP and have someone turn it over. Watch if oil squirts out?

97 F350 XL std cab, zf5, srw (converted), 4wd, 3.55s, stock wheels/tires & rebuilt 9.18