Mystery stall - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 08-18-2019, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mystery stall

So I am new to diesels but fair with a wrench. I've got a real hum dinger for me being a gasser and all.
1997 7.3 4x4 f250hd xlt obs 200k on it.

The truck surges at idle 400ish to 650ish it will stall occasionally on its own and if any extra load at idle is applied it will almost always stall. If you give it gas it evens out and runs. I am not sure if it's making power as the tranny is going and for all I know it's in 2nd gear, but its real sluggish to get going either way but at 2000rpms it seems good for what I think is stock equipment.

Now this truck was a headache for the previous guy who never had it run good and who was not a do it yourself and had shops do the work for him. He had a after aftermarket intake put in, the tanks replaced, new 4inch straight exhaust installed, pedestal delete, new turbo, all new sensors, new vacuum pump. Injector o rings replaced and injectors professionally tested new under valve cover harnesses. He started to install aftermarket gauges and has a 7 position ts performance tuner on it.

The injection shop said maybe hpop, I don't have the tester for that yet but the forscan tells me hpop is ok.

I think for what ever reason the pcm is starving the engine.
I thought pcm because I put in a 12v hot to the ipr and this resolves the issue and the truck sounds normal. High idle also does the trick. So I feel like the mechanicals are all good.
I've swapped the pcm with two known good ones as well as the idm no change. The only indication I have on the scanner is maybe maps one is 105 one is 2-3 and one is 0 at idle.