P0402:Excessive Flow Diagnosis NO LIMIT INTAKE - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Performance Parts Discussion (2017-2019) 6.7 Performance Parts Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 07-17-2019, 06:28 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Seantsm2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
P0402:Excessive Flow Diagnosis NO LIMIT INTAKE

Hey guys. Received my no limit stage 1 intake yesterday (we think it's a stage 1). I installed it last night and I drove it for about 2-3 hours today. The truck sat for about an hour getting the oil changed and tires rotated. When I drove it for about 15 mins the check engine light comes on. Went through the truck and everything was tight and good With the oil change. So I went by Auto zone to get the code read. It's P0402: EGR Excessive Flow Diagnosis. The truck is completely stock except for the intake. Why would the intake be pushing "to much air" in and the EGR reading excessive air flow. Besides taking off the $350 intake and waiting a few months before I completely delete everything and installing the stock intake, is there anything else that can be done? "IF" I have to install the stock intake will the code and engine turn off?. Thanks guys
Seantsm2001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 07-17-2019, 07:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,410
Thanks: 3
Thanked 104 Times in 102 Posts
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't have a 6.7 so shooting in the dark a little here:
Have you checked the MAP sensor hose? maybe got knocked loose with the new intake

MAP sensor and Exhaust pressure sensor differential is used to calculate the "flow" of the EGR system

In my defense, I was unsupervised
.
2006 F250 Lariat FX4 cclb
Torque Pro and OBDLink MX bluetooth monitor
General note:
For all those wanting a premium silicone sealer Kubota 70000-73764 is the best your gonna find. This is a hybrid gray silicone that uses solvent rather than acid to start the curing reaction, this makes it safe for aluminum and and any surface that involves coolant.
Hydro is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 07-17-2019, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Seantsm2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks Hydro, what is and where is the map sensor
Seantsm2001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 07-17-2019, 08:05 PM
Powerstroke Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,410
Thanks: 75
Thanked 329 Times in 317 Posts
Mentioned: 325 Post(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The pcm determines egr flow by monitoring maf.
Maf is an adaptive parameter that the pcm learns.
You need to have the maf tables reset with the new intake in.

The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.
-Michelangelo
kaya is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kaya For This Useful Post:
Heavy_GD (07-18-2019)
post #5 of 17 Old 07-17-2019, 09:47 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Mr.Powerstroke1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cold air intake on 6.7

I am new on here. Just seen this post about CAI. I just order an S&B for my 2018 F250. I am wonder is this a common problem ..?
Mr.Powerstroke1 is online now  
post #6 of 17 Old 07-18-2019, 01:27 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Seantsm2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Kaya how do you have it reset. Thanks for the help
Seantsm2001 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 07-18-2019, 04:36 AM
Powerstroke Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,410
Thanks: 75
Thanked 329 Times in 317 Posts
Mentioned: 325 Post(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seantsm2001 View Post
Kaya how do you have it reset. Thanks for the help
There are probably other interface tools capable; snap-on, launch, etc. But ids is what we use.

Toolbox>powertrain>service functions>reset/clear specific tables>reset maf sensor

The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.
-Michelangelo
kaya is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kaya For This Useful Post:
Heavy_GD (07-18-2019)
post #8 of 17 Old 07-18-2019, 04:39 AM
Powerstroke Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,410
Thanks: 75
Thanked 329 Times in 317 Posts
Mentioned: 325 Post(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Powerstroke1 View Post
I am new on here. Just seen this post about CAI. I just order an S&B for my 2018 F250. I am wonder is this a common problem ..?
On these 17-19 trucks, maf is pretty highly monitored. There are at least six PIDs for it

The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.
-Michelangelo
kaya is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kaya For This Useful Post:
Heavy_GD (07-18-2019)
post #9 of 17 Old 07-18-2019, 05:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Treatcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 231
Thanks: 8
Thanked 7 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Got a pic of the intake so we can make sure it isnít a stage 2?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Clayton
2016 F250 6.7 FX4 Lariat Ingot Silver
2015 Jayco 267BHSW
Treatcg is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Treatcg For This Useful Post:
post #10 of 17 Old 07-18-2019, 08:22 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Mr.Powerstroke1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, what is PID mean ?
Mr.Powerstroke1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome