Stock EGT sensor for EGR Delete - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Performance Parts Discussion (2011-2016) 6.7 Performance Parts Discussion

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 09-21-2017, 07:40 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
blackseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 38
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stock EGT sensor for EGR Delete

I'm using Torque Pro to monitor my EGT's... Do I need to move the EGT11 probe to the where the EGR temp probe was in order to continue monitoring EGT's there with torque pro? Sort of confused, which PID I should monitor?
blackseven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 09-22-2017, 04:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MagnoliaTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Magnolia Texas
Posts: 198
Thanks: 22
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm interested to hear some feedback as well. I'm in the same boat and am about to lose some weight on the truck


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MagnoliaTom is online now  
post #3 of 21 Old 09-22-2017, 07:54 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 97
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I cannot take credit for the below; given to me by another user on another forum. Use one of the 4 EGT probes from the exhaust in the EGR block off plate and plug into the EGRT11 harness plug that was on the probe in the EGR before removal. I was confused and rerouted my EGT lines from the the exhaust all the way back up to the block off plate; this was a major pain and did not work. Using the EGR temp sensor harness, and a EGT probe from the exhaust, and the formula below worked. It was also super simple as the EGR temp sensor harness is right by the EGR block off plate (which should have a hole for an EGT probe).

"I used EGRT11 which is real handy to the block off plate.

I then came up with a custom equation for Torque Pro to convert the volts read by the sensor to temperature. I haven't been able to compare the output of Torque to a known calibrated sensor but it does seem to be in the right ballpark.

PID: 22055E
MIN 0
MAX 2000
scale x1
Unit C
(0.0004*(((1164.26*(((256*A)+B)*0.00097285))/(4.98-(((256*A)+B)*0.00097285)))*((1164.26*(((256*A)+B)* 0.00097285))/(4.98-(((256*A)+B)*0.00097285)))))+(1.107*((1164.26*(((2 56*A)+B)*0.00097285))/(4.98-(((256*A)+B)*0.00097285))))-237.33 "
MagnoliaTom likes this.

Last edited by andrewtac; 09-22-2017 at 08:00 AM.
andrewtac is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to andrewtac For This Useful Post:
blackseven (09-23-2017), MagnoliaTom (09-22-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 Old 09-22-2017, 08:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MagnoliaTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Magnolia Texas
Posts: 198
Thanks: 22
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks Andrew!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MagnoliaTom is online now  
post #5 of 21 Old 09-22-2017, 08:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MagnoliaTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Magnolia Texas
Posts: 198
Thanks: 22
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quick question...
Once this is set up, what is the normal temp range and is the "alarm" temp 1250?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MagnoliaTom is online now  
post #6 of 21 Old 09-23-2017, 06:21 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
blackseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 38
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just wanted to follow up and say that this did work for me using torque pro. I have EGT's now!
MagnoliaTom likes this.
blackseven is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 09-24-2017, 05:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MagnoliaTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Magnolia Texas
Posts: 198
Thanks: 22
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackseven View Post
Just wanted to follow up and say that this did work for me using torque pro. I have EGT's now!


What temps are you seeing driving on the highway?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MagnoliaTom is online now  
post #8 of 21 Old 09-24-2017, 05:57 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
blackseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 38
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnoliaTom View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackseven View Post
Just wanted to follow up and say that this did work for me using torque pro. I have EGT's now!


What temps are you seeing driving on the highway?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
5-700 cruise and peak of 1050 under wot. I have the gearhead tow tune with the same lag that everyone else seems to complain about. Going to go with the tyrant tune instead.
MagnoliaTom likes this.
blackseven is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to blackseven For This Useful Post:
MagnoliaTom (09-24-2017)
post #9 of 21 Old 09-24-2017, 06:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MagnoliaTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Magnolia Texas
Posts: 198
Thanks: 22
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackseven View Post
5-700 cruise and peak of 1050 under wot. I have the gearhead tow tune with the same lag that everyone else seems to complain about. Going to go with the tyrant tune instead.


Thanks! I'm collecting all my parts now and will be doing mine shortly. I planned on getting Tyrant tunes, so I'm glad I won't buy tunes twice


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MagnoliaTom is online now  
post #10 of 21 Old 09-24-2017, 07:16 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
blackseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 38
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnoliaTom View Post
Thanks! I'm collecting all my parts now and will be doing mine shortly. I planned on getting Tyrant tunes, so I'm glad I won't buy tunes twice


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Lesson learned there. Should've done my research first.
blackseven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome