2008 6.4 no crank out of the blue f350 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 11-09-2019, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2008 6.4 no crank out of the blue f350

Hi,
I have a 2008 f350 4x4 that I have owned for 3 years I have had a
spartan tuner on the 300 hp tune with no regen or egr system.

problem
I parked it in a my company's shop after a couple of days starting it
just to move a small trailer a few feet, one morning I go to start it
and had no cranking. I did hear a click on the passenger side fuse box
when the key is turned.

My diag
I checked the batteries and they were fine at 12.5v and cables were
tight I tested all fuse and swaped around the starter realy and fuel
pump relay, with the key on the on position I jumped that green wire
next to the passenger side battery and got strong cranking but no atemp
to fire up. I performed the same test on the actual starter terminals
and got the same results. I bought
the bluedevel obd2 tester and got

2 Powertrain Control Module Trouble Codes:
P0232: Fuel Pump Secondary Circuit High - Fuel Pump Secondary Circuit
High
P1000: On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) Systems Readiness Test Not Complete -
On-Board Diagnostic (OBD)
Systems Readiness Test Not Complete

3 4X4 Control Module Trouble Codes:
P1832: Transmission Transfer Case (4WD) Solenoid circuit failure -
Transmission Transfer Case (4WD)
Solenoid circuit failure
P1876: Transfer Case 2-Wheel Drive Solenoid Circuit Open Or Short To
Ground - Transfer Case 2-Wheel
Drive Solenoid Circuit Open Or Short To Ground
B1483: Brake On/Off Switch circuit failure - Brake On/Off Switch
circuit failure

When the key is turned to the on position I cant hear the fuel pump so I
thought not having the pickup pump pressure creates a no crank issue
but the ford dealer told me it should still crank with a busted fuel
pump. I checked the inertia switch and wasn't tripped. So i thought it
has to be an out of range egt sensor the Spartan tuner shower ambiant
temp and the with my mod6 tester it showed equal and ambiant temprature
on #1 and #2 egts. I know the is three so i performed a continuity test
on the the two EGT senders arround the cat and compared to a new one and
they all omh out the same.

I was wondering did I miss anything?

There was at one time a viper security system but it just had power
locks and a noise maker.
Hotchimichanga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-12-2019, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I broke down and took it into the dealer. its my first time taking it there.
Hotchimichanga is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-13-2019, 05:59 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Northern Utah
Posts: 375
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry nobody responded on here! I have no idea what it could be...but maybe the computer fried? That would at least explain when power is not getting sent out to anything (fuel pump, starter, etc)...but that's just a total guess by me.
onecrazyfoo4u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old Today, 05:30 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The ford dealer found fried pcm and a bad wireing harness

The Ford dealer after weeks of having the truck claim that the PCM was fried do to the harness having out of range resistance among various sending units. They want to replace PCM, harness, and batteries. I just gave them approval on the $3700 job.

Personalty I don't see how the PCM was fried do to the harness because wouldn't the PCM shutdown or throttle it's self if it got too hot. I hope my spartan tuner can work with the new pcm otherwise ill get an HP tuner.
Hotchimichanga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome