Advice needed on buying a potential pig in a poke - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 01-20-2020, 10:01 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Advice needed on buying a potential pig in a poke

Hi everybody, newbie here. My neighbor is selling a 2008 6.4 with 214k miles that he said the #2 injector is bad. So in doing research on this engine I've noticed that #2 and #8 injector problems typically point to bigger internal problems. So I took a good look at the truck today based on what I've seen on the internet to look for, and this is what I've found (note: I don't have any of the fancy Snap-on diagnostic/ compression equipment, comparative compression computer systems or bluetooth computers, so looked at the truck using basic information)... no foul smell or fluid in the antifreeze reservoir, oil dipstick looked normal, no sign of any work done to the engine by the owner, no aftermarket computer or performance components, no black soot on the rear fender, factory exhaust system, exhaust tips had no soot or discoloration, started right up with no smoke (I did feel the engine and it felt lukewarm, as if it was started a couple hours before), hesitated on accelerating, runs and drives, check engine light is on, all dashboard dummy lights were connected, no smoke on start up or idle but pushed out white smoke when accelerating in park that immediately dissipated, the smoke smelled very very noxious that burned your nose, like poisonous, not sweet like regular gas engines. I also used the old trick of turning the engine over with the ignition off and I could hear that the engine turning over was not smooth and constant, but could hear that one cylinder wasn't sounding right as it turned over. The engine also clattered when running, as heard from each front fender well, I forgot to check the oil filler cap for blowby, I didn't get a readout of th