Diesel smell in cab-even when not running??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 09-17-2019, 06:13 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Diesel smell in cab-even when not running???

Not sure what's going on, however, I have a strong diesel/grease/chemical smell in the cab even when the truck is just sitting. When driving, the AC doesn't really blow that cold anymore, it goes from cool damp air to cold air for a few seconds, back to cool damp air, and it never really takes the humidity out. Yet, the AC sometimes blows the smell of fumes in with it. Sometimes, it's pretty strong when you throw open the door and the cab smells like a dirty garage and diesel fumes.

Maybe the air box is leaking in the air from the engine compartment? Any idea's what this could be would be very helpful; I'm no mechanic but really need this issue fixed. Thanks all!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 09-17-2019, 06:50 PM
Premium Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Not long after I bought my rig (from original owner, bone-stock and dealer serviced) I began to get the diesel smell in the cab. My dad said his 6.0 had the same problem. His mechanic did the blue spring upgrade and the smell went away.

I thought he was nuts, but since the blue spring is cheap, easy and highly recommended I figured I had nothing to lose except the diesel smell.

Sure enough it worked... Maybe the gasket over the spring housing was seeping or something, I don't know - but it's worth a shot!

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

140k+
Blue Spring
SCT Livewire w/ EGT (Stock Tune)
Otherwise Bone Stock
FX4 Option
Tow Package
Daily Driver
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to skifter22 For This Useful Post:
TommyW (09-18-2019)