NUC Oil Bypass Filtration Kit Install. PICS! - Page 5 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 8Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 89 Old 03-21-2013, 04:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 425
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Why did you go through the trouble of putting on sensors to get the oil and coolant temp from there ?
Is there any benefit to doing it this way as opposed to just getting the values from the obd port where the edge gets its info from ?
I am assuming you have an edge, and not some other method of reading pid's.

Joe




Quote:
Originally Posted by dfuzz78 View Post
Here you go. You need two all female 1/8 tee fittings. You need two 1/8 to 1/4 45 degree pressure fittings to attach the oil lines. Two 1/8 male to 1/8 male fittings to thread the tee fittings into the filter base. Then one male 1/8 valve for the oil sampling. The gauge temp sensor is a 1/8 male, so it just screws into the female tee fitting. With so many possibilities and fittings, this was the best plan I came up with to fit my needs.

4realestate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 89 Old 03-21-2013, 08:26 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 976
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can't speak for dfuzz, but many of us like having individual gauges. Not only for the appearance, but I'd rather not rely on Fords sensors. (The Ford Oil Pressure gauge is an idiot light, tranny temp is a joke, useless.) And I prefer to keep my OBD2 port open and available without a cord plugged in.
rdezs is offline  
post #43 of 89 Old 03-21-2013, 09:01 AM Thread Starter
Suck, Squish, Bang, Blow!





 
dfuzz78's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 6,471
Thanks: 236
Thanked 191 Times in 159 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4realestate View Post
Why did you go through the trouble of putting on sensors to get the oil and coolant temp from there ?
Is there any benefit to doing it this way as opposed to just getting the values from the obd port where the edge gets its info from ?
I am assuming you have an edge, and not some other method of reading pid's.

Joe
It wasn't any trouble...

I have a Scangauge II for monitoring the actual temps.

I did it to be sure that they are still functioning and flowing.

If they have temp, they are working, and I can tell right in the cab!

I can also sample the oil with the valve.

Denis "Lt. Sled"
2006 F-350 Crew Cab Long Bed Dark Shadow Gray

462hp / 927ft-lbs Corrected
ARP Head Studs, NUC Motorsports Oil Bypass, CFM+ Intake Elbow, Wicked Wheel 2
Bullet Proof Diesel FICM w/Atlas 40, SCT SF3 w/SPD by TSD! Grover Fire Truck Horns
Cab Light Mod, Blue Spring Mod, Zoodad Mod, High Idle Mod, Lost EGR Mod

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dfuzz78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 89 Old 03-21-2013, 06:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 425
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Because I don't have a scan gauge this may be a silly question, but, is it something that you plug into the obd port ?
If so, i guess you only plug it in periodically, since you want to keep the port available/open. As far as the oem sensors go, i understand that the gauges themselves may not respond quickly or are not very accurate, but when plugged into my edge it responds very quickly, and seems accurate.
4realestate is offline  
post #45 of 89 Old 03-21-2013, 07:03 PM Thread Starter
Suck, Squish, Bang, Blow!





 
dfuzz78's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 6,471
Thanks: 236
Thanked 191 Times in 159 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4realestate View Post
Because I don't have a scan gauge this may be a silly question, but, is it something that you plug into the obd port ?
If so, i guess you only plug it in periodically, since you want to keep the port available/open. As far as the oem sensors go, i understand that the gauges themselves may not respond quickly or are not very accurate, but when plugged into my edge it responds very quickly, and seems accurate.
Yes, the Scangauge II stays plugged into the obd port.

It reads the data in real time.

Denis "Lt. Sled"
2006 F-350 Crew Cab Long Bed Dark Shadow Gray

462hp / 927ft-lbs Corrected
ARP Head Studs, NUC Motorsports Oil Bypass, CFM+ Intake Elbow, Wicked Wheel 2
Bullet Proof Diesel FICM w/Atlas 40, SCT SF3 w/SPD by TSD! Grover Fire Truck Horns
Cab Light Mod, Blue Spring Mod, Zoodad Mod, High Idle Mod, Lost EGR Mod

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dfuzz78 is offline  
post #46 of 89 Old 03-22-2013, 08:14 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 976
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4realestate View Post
Because I don't have a scan gauge this may be a silly question, but, is it something that you plug into the obd port ?
If so, i guess you only plug it in periodically, since you want to keep the port available/open. As far as the oem sensors go, i understand that the gauges themselves may not respond quickly or are not very accurate, but when plugged into my edge it responds very quickly, and seems accurate.
Your 6.0 doesn't come equipped with a real oil pressure gauge, therefore no device can be used to read it off the OBD2 port. The gauge on the dash is just an idiot light, the needle goes to the middle when you have 7 psi of pressure, at reads nothing when you have less than 7 psi. (At pressures just above that, you will have engine damage with no warning!)

Tranny temp is similar, but different. It will read in the middle within 3 minutes of driving, and won't register overheating until it's too late and the tranny is fried.

So...we have gauges.
rdezs is offline  
post #47 of 89 Old 03-22-2013, 08:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 425
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I completely understand the gauge thing.
What I am trying to say is, my edge insight reads trans temp, oil press and temp and so on. If it is getting these values from sensors in the engine, then they must be correct, right ? I know the factory gauges suck, but the sensors they get info from are good, no ? Are the sensors you are using better ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rdezs View Post
Your 6.0 doesn't come equipped with a real oil pressure gauge, therefore no device can be used to read it off the OBD2 port. The gauge on the dash is just an idiot light, the needle goes to the middle when you have 7 psi of pressure, at reads nothing when you have less than 7 psi. (At pressures just above that, you will have engine damage with no warning!)

Tranny temp is similar, but different. It will read in the middle within 3 minutes of driving, and won't register overheating until it's too late and the tranny is fried.

So...we have gauges.
4realestate is offline  
post #48 of 89 Old 03-22-2013, 10:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MrOneEyedBoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,760
Thanks: 46
Thanked 145 Times in 79 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Im wondering the same thing...
MrOneEyedBoh is offline  
post #49 of 89 Old 03-22-2013, 11:05 AM
Member
 
spoonfedblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdezs View Post
Your 6.0 doesn't come equipped with a real oil pressure gauge, therefore no device can be used to read it off the OBD2 port. The gauge on the dash is just an idiot light, the needle goes to the middle when you have 7 psi of pressure, at reads nothing when you have less than 7 psi. (At pressures just above that, you will have engine damage with no warning!)

Tranny temp is similar, but different. It will read in the middle within 3 minutes of driving, and won't register overheating until it's too late and the tranny is fried.

So...we have gauges.
Even though the dash gauges are just idiot lights, the PCM still looks at the actual values from the trans temp, oil temp, oil pressure and coolant temp sensors. That's why the Edge displays those values. What rdezs is saying is that the factory gauges are not an accurate method of monitoring temps and pressures. HOWEVER, barring a sensor failure, using an Insight is a perfectly acceptable way to monitor those things, unless, like he said you wanted to keep the DLC open.

ASE Certified Master Tech A1-A9
L1 Advanced Level Specialist



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

yours

2006 F-250 SCSB 6.0 FX4 Lariat
285/70R17 Nitto Trail Grapplers, Upfitters w/ High Idle, 4" Turbo Back Straight Pipe, AFE 6" Polished Tip, Insight CTS w/ EGT, Blue Spring, IPR Gen 2, CAT ELC, DieselSite Coolant Filter, Cloud Rider Cold Front

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
spoonfedblue is offline  
post #50 of 89 Old 03-22-2013, 11:24 AM
Turbos = Witchcraft
 
TooMuch03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 2,740
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 19 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
That is not the case for the oil pressure. The sending unit is just a pressure switch.

2003 F250 6.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuscany View Post
Compounds FTW!!!
TooMuch03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome