IDP Tunes……worth it to try some others? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 08-22-2019, 06:27 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question IDP Tunes……worth it to try some others?

I’ve been running IDP Tunes (X-Street, Street, Tow) since I got my truck a few years ago. I run the tow tune the majority of the time, sometimes I run the Street, and never really touch the X-Street…..it just shifts too hard for daily driving. All the tunes seem to run clean, and I really have no issues with them.

That being said….since tunes for the SCT X4 are relatively cheap, would it be worth it to try out a tune or two from another company? Does the way the truck acts and drives vary a bunch from different tune companies? I hear good things about the Looney and SRL tunes.....

Just wondering…..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-22-2019, 07:27 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
I say yes. I used to run IDP Xtreme Race before. I felt it shifted too hard under regular driving and the power came on a little abrupt. I either had to baby it or be WOT. I later tried SRLXX from GH and thought it drove much better as a daily. It still has firm shifting, but not as bad as Xtreme Race. Power also is much more linear.

I've tried tow tunes from GH, IDP, and Windrunner for stock tranny. Warren for my built trans. Hands down for me the Warren tow tune feels the best when towing. It's decent, but sometimes short shifts the gears if I was slightly aggressive on take off.

Warren tow tune has a bit too much fuel for summer use. I have to watch ECT/EOT on grades during heavy throttle. I'll probably have it revised at some point.