LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 12-06-2019, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Low oil pressure at idle after warm

Good evening!

I'll start by saying I'm new to diesel engines in general. Bought a used 2008 Ford E350 6.0l school bus to toy with. Ran pretty well, one code when I first bought it for the anti theft lockout, chalked it up to it barely starting from low battery voltage. Cleared the code and it didn't come back.

Anyways, on to the problem. Took it into the dealer for an inspection and oil change. They put 15w40 synthetic blend in it. After letting it warm up a little we left the dealership and jumped on the highway for a little bit and the engine warmed up. As soon as I got to the first stoplight and let off the gas the low oil pressure light illuminated and a few seconds later the gauge went to nothing.

If I hit the gas the gauge would recover and the light would go out. It happened everytime I let off the gas and the rpms dropped below 1k.

The issue continues today, it only happens after the engine has warmed up, and the bus seems to run fine when the symptoms are occurring.

Tonight after arriving home (engine was warm) I let it idle for about a minute in the driveway and the light stayed on. I shut the bus off then started it again and it seemed to start right up with no more effort than is usual. I turned it off again and let it sit for a few minutes and the same thing, started right back up.

Most of the situations I read online where people have low oil pressure at idle when the engine is warm also have difficulty restarting the engine when it's warm.