8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 11-04-2019, 01:46 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Driving me NUTS!!! - Main harness issues

OK, I have been battling this electrical issue for about 2 months now. This is a 2005 F250.

It started one morning when I was allowing the truck to "warm up" (it was in the 90's but didn't want to just jump in and drive). The truck was idling fine - then I felt a shutter - the truck started idling funny and the wrench light came on.
I immediately cut the truck off and waited a few minutes to fire it back up. It fired up perfectly fine and idled normal. The wrench light was on and I had absolutely NO throttle. it was throwing a P2285 code (ICP sensor low) - but it was throwing that, or similar, code before that (ICP was unplugged).

After a few days of the truck sitting idle, I finally broke out the multimeter and started checking wires. I found that the 5V reference wire was only reading 1V, or less. I unplugged the harness from the PCM and checked the #36 pinout to see what kind of voltage I was getting. It was showing 5 volts. Plugged the harness back in and checked the wire again...<1V again.

I unplugged the 3 sensors on the reference line (EBP, ICP and EGR actuator(which is deleted)). I then checked the reference wire at the connector again - this time it had 5 volts. I started plugging the sensors back in. After each one, I would check the voltage at the wire again. Each time, it showed 5 volts - even when I had everything hooked back up. So, I started thinking that one of the sensor plugs may have gotten loose.

Got in the truck, @koe O, I cleared the codes with my cheep code reader (Walmart for less than $30). Codes cleared (forgot to mention that I also replaced the ICP with OEM and replaced the pigtails as well - triple checked the wiring). No dash lights and the truck idled fine and it had throttle response.