post #1 of 6 Old 10-12-2019, 09:22 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hot miss, idle and cruising low RPM

Hey guys,

Long post, sorry..

I've got a 2005 F350 that just had a bunch of work to it, before I bought it.

The truck had just got head gaskets, studs, 2 new heads, 8 new injectors done and then quit running after 3 weeks. I picked the truck up for a good price and started to diagnose the issue.

The truck failed the bubble test very badly, then failed the balloon test on the passenger side. It ended up being injector 7 had backed off, lost the copper washer and blew the fuel o-ring.

The injectors were all Dtech remans. The shop that did the work agreed to warranty my parts and let me do the labor (I'm an HD mechanic, but not familiar to the 6.0). I replaced the Dtech with an Autoline, all the shop could get from the supplier without waiting a few weeks.

After installing the new #7 injector I decided to check the torque on the rest. When I attempted to torque #5 it felt like it was loose too! But I went ahead and torque it to 28ft-lbs and it didn't fail a bubble test so I left it. #3 and #1 felt like they were around 10-15ft.lbs.

The standpipes and dummy plugs were all updated and the orings looked great so I put them back together. After reassembly I cranked the engine over without the key to help prime the oil rails. Truck started with about 15 to 20 seconds of cranking with the key. For the first time I heard the truck running and it sounded great but was missing a bit, while the oil rails filled, I thought great!

I didn't want to chance the other injectors being loose so I pulled the drivers side valve cover off to check torque and they were all around 10-15ft pounds, but #6 felt a little looser. As I was torquing the last injector, #8, I went back to double check the torque and it started to spin again. It ended up being part of the cast head broke free around this bolt hole.