2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 09-20-2019, 05:52 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oil cooler or..?

So first and foremost, I've actually turned wrenches on these trucks before- but not mine in particular. I'm a capable tech on gas engines, however I'm by no means an expert on the 6.0s. My truck is an 07, has well over 300k miles, but hasn't given me any trouble up until this point. I use the truck to tow <7500lbs almost daily, and was on my way home with about 7klbs behind the truck, going up a long hill, turning about 2500-2800RPM. Crossed the top of the hill, could smell coolant, looked down and watched my "Dummy" coolant gauge begin to rise. I pulled over, my coolant tank had a crack in the bottom of it, and the upper hose had actually swelled due to coolant pressure.

I let it sit for about 20min, depressurize, threw water in the tank and drove it home. It didn't overheat, or give any issues (I was about 10min from home). Got home, ordered a coolant tank then picked up and had it installed an hour later. Topped it off with water, no leaks, drove it for 2 or 3 days. No overheating, never passed 196 degrees unloaded, never passed 206 loaded (100 degrees weather). I was constantly checking the coolant and coolant pressure after each drive.. nothing insane but I felt it was a little more pressure than normal. Finally I drove about 2.5 hours round trip, loaded with about 5klbs, got home and had oil in the coolant. I haven't driven the truck since. Still runs perfect, never overheated or acted weird on the way home.