LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 08-23-2019, 07:16 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
fuel filter change question

Hey all,

I am new to the Powerstroke diesels and I am learning a lot, but ran into a question while changing the fuel filters today.

I started on top and added the Blue Spring upgrade from Sinister at the same time. The directions, as well as online videos, stated that I'd want to suck out the fuel from the filter bowl before pulling the old spring housing. But after I pulled the cap, it all drained out on its own. The rest of that part went as expected.

Then I moved to the filter under the frame rail. I backed out the water separator plug and it drained for a long time and just kept coming. I finally screwed it back in and pulled off the cap. Again, it just kept draining fuel. After I had caught more than half a gallon without seeing it slow down, I tossed in the new filter and closed it up.

Do I have an issue that should be addressed? Is there some sort of check valve that is not working?

Thanks

Edit: I should add that this is an '05 truck

Last edited by VashonFarmer; 08-23-2019 at 07:24 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 08-23-2019, 09:22 PM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
So, i've had my first diesel 6 months now, I've only changed my filters out once so far so i can give reference mostly, '05 f250. The water separator plug did take a while to completely drain, but it was a slow drain and not even a 1/4 of a gallon when complete. The rail fuel filter housing did drain some fuel but nothing like a 1/2 gallon+. There should be some loss, as the procedure requires you to prime the system again with the key a few times.
VashonFarmer likes this.
post #3 of 12 Old 08-24-2019, 08:26 AM
Premium Member

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Garage