Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum (https://www.powerstroke.org/forum/)
-   6.0 Motor problems (https://www.powerstroke.org/forum/6-0-motor-problems/)
-   -   fuel filter change question (https://www.powerstroke.org/forum/6-0-motor-problems/1367849-fuel-filter-change-question.html)

VashonFarmer 08-23-2019 08:16 PM

fuel filter change question

Hey all,

I am new to the Powerstroke diesels and I am learning a lot, but ran into a question while changing the fuel filters today.

I started on top and added the Blue Spring upgrade from Sinister at the same time. The directions, as well as online videos, stated that I'd want to suck out the fuel from the filter bowl before pulling the old spring housing. But after I pulled the cap, it all drained out on its own. The rest of that part went as expected.

Then I moved to the filter under the frame rail. I backed out the water separator plug and it drained for a long time and just kept coming. I finally screwed it back in and pulled off the cap. Again, it just kept draining fuel. After I had caught more than half a gallon without seeing it slow down, I tossed in the new filter and closed it up.

Do I have an issue that should be addressed? Is there some sort of check valve that is not working?

Thanks

Edit: I should add that this is an '05 truck

jullsplv 08-23-2019 10:22 PM

So, i've had my first diesel 6 months now, I've only changed my filters out once so far so i can give reference mostly, '05 f250. The water separator plug did take a while to completely drain, but it was a slow drain and not even a 1/4 of a gallon when complete. The rail fuel filter housing did drain some fuel but nothing like a 1/2 gallon+. There should be some loss, as the procedure requires you to prime the system again with the key a few times.

jokester00 08-24-2019 09:26 AM