TPMS - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Wheels, Tires, and Brakes Here's where you can post all your topics and questions about wheels, tires and brakes.
Sponsored by Discount Tire

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2013, 03:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Crested Butte, Colorado
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TPMS

Anyone know how to adjust the TPMS warning? My 2011 F350 requires 80 PSI on the rears. That is good for towing, but I don't tow in the winter, and would like a little softer ride without the warning message. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-20-2013, 08:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Covina, Ca.
Posts: 2,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Best bet is to put some after market valve sensors on at the lower rating. Won't help you as much when your towing, but if say you got sensors for 65PSI, if you lost pressure past that it will warn you.

As for modifying the value, no.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-21-2013, 06:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: O'Fallon, Missouri
Posts: 172
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just got Toyo Open Country AT2 tires this week on my 2010 F350. 35x12.5r20 Im struggling to figure out the tpms reset/retrain proceedure. I read manual and tried the proceedure with putting truck in relearn mode by cycling ignition and hazard lights. I let air out tire but no response.....also tried using the ford sensor learning tool....still nothing. I tried this while having tires inflated to 80 lbs in rear and 65 front. The Toyo tires are only rated to 65 lbs so I plan to return them to at or below 65 once I train them to truck. Im running out of ideas other than to take back to tire shop and have them install FORD OEM sensors and trying again. Anyone have similar issues? Got any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-21-2013, 06:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 219
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
probably have to take it to ford need to use IDS scanner to reprogram the pressures in the computer. Some shops may have aftermarket scan tool that will do it but ford would be the best bet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-21-2013, 07:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: O'Fallon, Missouri
Posts: 172
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dont think its the pressure issue because I had the tires inflated to the OEM specs just to try and get the sensors to sync to truck. Drove around for a day with 65psi front, 80 psi rear....tried the retrain proceedure several times...It didnt work....????

They are aftermarket valve stem style TPMS sensors....I think when I go back to tire shop I will have them get me the OEM Ford sensors and try that. Just need to figure out how to get them to be recognized by truck...FRUSTRATED!!!!

On another note....since I dont plan to run 80 psi in rear....I ordered the H&S TPMS tool to link into my mini maxx. It will allow me to program the computer to what pressures I want or it can even turn off the TPMS system....cost me $100 but will save alot of headaches.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-21-2013, 07:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Crested Butte, Colorado
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
In my original post I was interested in a way to lower my rear tire pressure below 80PSI without the warning message with my new AT2 tires. It seems that when you 1 st install the tires, you need to set them at the OEM 80PSI. After a few days I lowered the rears to 70PSI. I just made a 500 mile round trip without any warning message. Perhaps my problem is solved. Thanks for all of the ideas.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors