Calibrating a speedometer after putting bigger tires on it? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Wheels, Tires, and Brakes Here's where you can post all your topics and questions about wheels, tires and brakes.
Sponsored by Discount Tire

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2010, 05:52 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Calibrating a speedometer after putting bigger tires on it?

I put a 8" lift on my 2002 F350 diesel and the tires that I put on it are 38x15.5x20. By putting these tires on it, it ended up throwing out my speedometer. At 60mph the speedometer was reading 52mph so I bought a TS performance Respeed to fix the problem but now the needle on the speedometer bounces. I was told that my speed sensor may be bad on the right front wheel but I have had no problems with the bouncing of the speedometer till the Respeed was installed. I have tried Edge's Evolution and CTS. An Edge tech told me that both the CTS and the Evolution were not compatible with my truck. This is my second TS Performance Respeed. I sent the first Respeed back to TS thinking it was bad. Any ideas would help.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-2010, 05:58 PM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armstrong View Post
I put a 8" lift on my 2002 F350 diesel and the tires that I put on it are 38x15.5x20. By putting these tires on it, it ended up throwing out my speedometer. At 60mph the speedometer was reading 52mph so I bought a TS performance Respeed to fix the problem but now the needle on the speedometer bounces. I was told that my speed sensor may be bad on the right front wheel but I have had no problems with the bouncing of the speedometer till the Respeed was installed. I have tried Edge's Evolution and CTS. An Edge tech told me that both the CTS and the Evolution were not compatible with my truck. This is my second TS Performance Respeed. I sent the first Respeed back to TS thinking it was bad. Any ideas would help.
Thanks!
My AutoEnginuity scanner will calibrate 'em.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-13-2010, 06:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 1,256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does the needle still bounce without the module?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-13-2010, 06:56 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerhoghp View Post
Does the needle still bounce without the module?
Not at all.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-14-2010, 01:29 AM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
PM sent...............
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-16-2011, 07:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how do you get to that part with the AE scanner. I bought the ford bundle and can't seem to find my way to that part of it? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-17-2011, 01:18 AM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dockterp View Post
how do you get to that part with the AE scanner. I bought the ford bundle and can't seem to find my way to that part of it? Thanks
When you first start it up and pick your year, pick "ABS Brakes" or something like that. (It has been over a year since I did it and I have forgotten the exact name.) Then over to the right where you find the tests you'll find a tire calibration tool. Good luck. Sorry I can't be any more specific but it has been a while since I did this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-17-2011, 08:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hank View Post
When you first start it up and pick your year, pick "ABS Brakes" or something like that. (It has been over a year since I did it and I have forgotten the exact name.) Then over to the right where you find the tests you'll find a tire calibration tool. Good luck. Sorry I can't be any more specific but it has been a while since I did this.
Diagnostics; ABS; Boom, there it is. Adjustable in 1/2" dia. increments.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-17-2011, 09:39 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nineveh Indiana
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have had the superlifts truspeed hooked up on my truck since fall of 2002 and it works just fine, you can set it for 2 differant tire sizes. i set mine using a gps and it dead on. There was a guy over on fordtruckworld who developed his own , it` was alot like the truspeed unit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-19-2011, 06:51 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Found it! Thanks guys! My scantool was actually giving me a hard time so I had to call AE, they got it straightened out and got me upgraded to 9.1. Does anyone know what that means for a weekender like me. This scanner is probably more than I'll ever need as it is, but I was wondering if the new software does anything new or different. I forgot to ask the guy when I was on the phone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors