6.0 newbie towing question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
What a Powerstroke is for, Towing and Hauling FAQs, How To's, What do you pull, 5ers

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By catloaderdude

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2014, 07:59 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0 newbie towing question

Hello all,
I am new to diesel pick ups, proud new owner of a 04 F250 6.0 4x4 supercab.. Many questions to follow after this one I'm sure. I have a 31' Greywolf that weights 6020lbs. it was towed by a 05 ram 1500 quad cab 4.7 baby v8 with mpg's of about 6 per mile. On the flat it was ok but worked, on hills here in central PA it worked hard. Will at that small weight (compared to some I have seen posted) be a issue if I leave it in o/d? The truck has the five speed auto . I do have weight distribution and sway bar which I do plan continued use of just for safety purpose, better to have and use than need and be caught in a situation and not have on. Any help now and in the future will always be greatly appreciated. Oh if we ever end up at the same camping facility all are welcome for beer and mountain pie.
Likes2camp likes this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2014, 08:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

i pull a boat that's 5500 on a 500 mi trip at least 10 times a year and when im driving under 55 and go through some small towns I keep it in tow haul just for the stronger shift points. on the interstate if the traffic is light I used OD but when traffic is heavy and im on the peddles more I keep it out of OD for better response. I don't think you will cause damage, I usually alternate for convenience when the situation calls for it.
Old 03-25-2014, 08:16 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by catloaderdude View Post
Hello all,