Need PA hauling advice - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
What a Powerstroke is for, Towing and Hauling FAQs, How To's, What do you pull, 5ers

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2013, 05:40 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need PA hauling advice

I live in PA and I want to get a bigger trailer to haul one of my tractors with. The biggest weighs 12k and I may need to haul it twice a month so I'm looking at a 16-18k trailer. I recently re-read the towing capacity specs from Ford to make sure I'll be legit and according to it, my '12 350 ccsb 4wd srw 3.55 rear GCWR maxes out at 23500. My registration lists GVWR correctly but does not list a GCWR. When I was a fleet mechanic the company bought several F650's that the registered GCWR was 5k or so less than the Ford specs. It took an act of congress and a letter from Ford to get the GCWR raised. My dealer says I'll be fine but the last thing I want is DOT to tell me I'm wrong. The notary shops I called all gave different answers. What is the actual truth? How are others hauling more with less? I guess I'll keep my eye open for an F450. Oh and anything over 8500 requires a weight distributing hitch...really?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-12-2013, 06:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

I would recommend getting a gooseneck trailer for starters, not a bumper hitch type. Second although you will be maxing out at your weights your trucks should be fine. I don't know what the trailer weight is but your truck is rated for 15,900 lbs with a gooseneck / fifthwheel. Personally I have never seen DOT mess with the pickups that much, especially if you are doing it as a private hauler and not commercial.
Old 09-12-2013, 06:07 PM