In bed tank/pump wired to upfitter? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
What a Powerstroke is for, Towing and Hauling FAQs, How To's, What do you pull, 5ers

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 04-19-2013, 07:24 AM Thread Starter
Emergency Services

TxFireman1972's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaumont Texas
Posts: 4,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
In bed tank/pump wired to upfitter?

I'm wanting to wire my pump thats on my auxiliary in bed tank/pump to my one of my upfitter switches. Right now its just a temporary setup and I have to open the hood and hook the cables to the battery every time I want to pump. I have been non-stop filling generators lately and would like to wire it up so I don't have to mess with hooking up under the hood. The pump is just a standard FR1200C pump like the ones at Tractor Supply and other places. In the specs it lists 20 amps, so I'm assuming one of the 30 amp upfitters should be fine.

Curious if anyone else has wired theirs up to an upfitter switch, and if so, any ideas, suggestions or tips would be great.

Here is the pump:

Here is how I have to do it right now:

I also want to have some sort of plug on the end that goes to the bed. Like a male/female plug to hook up to. Similar to a fifth wheel trailer plug mounted in the bed. That way when I swap over to different tanks, or take them out completely, I can just unplug.

2005 F350 Crew Cab 4x4

PMF Rear Leaf Spring Conversion w/2011 Leaf Springs
20" Harley Wheels 305/55/20 Nitto Terra Grapplers
ARP Studs & EGR Delete from PowerStrokeMagic w/GearHead Tunes
Amp Research Steps, MBRP

"Two in the heart, and one in the head, I don't like repeat offenders, I like dead offenders!" -- Ted Nugent
TxFireman1972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 04-19-2013, 10:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
GregsSD's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It would work fine using either upfitter switch #1 or #2 since they are rated at 30 amps. But you do need to have the key on for the upfitters to work.

You can just install a trailer plug socket in your bed just like for a 5th wheel, and wire your pump to the male end of a matching plug. You only need to hook up 2 of the connections (+12v and ground) on the plug if you have no plans to use a 5th wheel trailer with that truck. This would make using your pump very quick and easy!!!

2005 F-250 CC/SB 4x4 medium wedgewood blue

5" lift, 5" Donahoe rear springs, 35x13.50 Extreme A/T's, 18x10 Ultra Predator wheels, 4.30 gears, Banks 4" exhaust, Airraid intake, SCT from Innovative, ARP headstuds, Bulletproof ficm, Scangauge II, Randy Ellis Design lightbar, Street Scene flares, Harpoon mod, Zoodad mod, LED 2010 taillights, dual color LED front turn signals, Pioneer avic-D3 with ipod and backup cams
GregsSD is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-24-2013, 06:59 AM Fanatic
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I wired my Tuthill this way: positive wire from battery, in-line fuse, wire under truck, wire through hole in bed, wire plug/socket in bed, in-line switch, wire connected to Tuthill.

The in-line switch is not acutually needed if the switch on the Tuthill is easily reached.

I connected to the driver-side battery to avoid getting the wiring close to the exhaust system.

I also ran a matching negative wire to the battery to assure full amperage.

Works like a charm.

On the Tuthill, I also added fuel filters to keep the equipment free of contaminants and water in the fuel. I run all the truck's fuel through the auxiliary tank for several reasons: it keeps the fuel fresh, and it assures the fuel that reaches the F250's tanks is well filtered for sediment and water. Using the auxiliary tank also makes it easy to treat the fuel for any additives I might need, including Biobar for microbes should they ever become a problem.

Last edited by Airstreamer67; 04-24-2013 at 07:07 AM.
Airstreamer67 is offline  
Sponsored Links

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome