The art of towing - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
What a Powerstroke is for, Towing and Hauling FAQs, How To's, What do you pull, 5ers

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2011, 06:15 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The art of towing

Hi all,

I'm curious to know how you tow. By that I mean how do you hard/easy are you on the truck. Do you push your truck to the max at all times, full throttle up hill and high speeds or try and maintain a steady speed. What speed do you pull, etc.

I'm fairly new to driving a diesel and am interested to know your thoughts. I bumper pull a 34ft travel trailer when fully loaded and gear weigh around 10k. However, the thing is like a gigantic windsock so i often wonder how others approach how hard they tow with similar setup.

I just got rid of my failing egr cooler and have new oil cooler so truck should be in tip top shape this year.

Happy new year.

Eric

Sent from my Autoguide iPad app

Last edited by KCPowerStroker; 12-26-2011 at 08:29 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-26-2011, 06:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I tow a 40ft Goose neck enclosed Snowmobile trailer a couple times a year. Empty it ways about 8500lbs.. We put 7 sleds, 75gals of race gas, full set of tools, gear, etc.... Loaded its about 16k.... I try to speed up going down hills and maintain speed so it never has to down shift up hills.. It gets pulled from southern MN to western wyo. or Montana twice a year... I dont tow with milage in mind.. Just try to make the best time possible without it to the floor all the time
Old 12-26-2011, 06:26 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Well I pull a 35' Sundowner 3 Horse Gooseneck, weighs about 13,000 pounds when loaded.