Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Realistic towing capacity (newbie ??s)

42K views 26 replies 18 participants last post by  Ren 
#1 ·
(disclaimer: I'm mechanically challenged, new to the forum, and new to the diesel world. In other words: be gentle, it's my first time. :nutkick:)

I bought an '08 F250 6.4L, 4X4 Lariat this past spring, completely STOCK. I tow a 24' toyhauler/camper that weighs in around #8000 fully loaded. No issues there. I'm looking at upgrading the rv this winter, and am finding I really can't tow as much trailer as I had hoped. Ford :icon_ford: says I can tow #12,500 on a 5th wheel. Most of what I'm looking at will put me in the #14,000 range. I know I can beef up the springs and such to help out with the load distribution, but what of the limits of the motor and transmission? :dunno: And by adding airbags, etc, how can I then determine what I can SAFELY load and pull with the truck?

I leave my fate in your hands, oh most omnipotent bbs overseers. :hehe:

TIA
PJ

#2 ·
Your engine and trans arn't the issue. For me it would be stability of the truck. Its a F250, I would want a F350 at least or a dually for me to safe. Springs and air bags will keep the truck level, but if a nice cross wind hits that camper that truck will be all over the road.

#3 ·
Engine and transmission will be fine. They use the same powertrain all the way up to the F-550 (with different gearing). Where you are going to run into problems is with GVWR. If your truck weighs 7400# ready to roll, that only allows you 1400# of trailer pin weight. Assuming your pin weight is 17.5% of your trailers weight, that allows you to pull a fifth wheel trailer weighing only 8000#.

On an F-250 you're going to hit your GVWR before you ever come close to hitting the combined weight rating. Now thats not to say a lot of guys don't excede these numbers, but thats what the sticker inside your door says.

#4 ·