Fail Safe Mode? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2006, 06:56 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fail Safe Mode?

I had a remote starter installed today. When they picked up my truck it ran perfect. When they dropped it off the overdrive light was flashing, the truck feels like it's starting in 3rd gear, and I have 4 trouble codes in my HyperPac all transmision related. The jack-off that delivered it to me said that it feels kind of sluggish. He said that sometimes when you put big tires on big heavy trucks they get a little sluggish. I had to refrain from kicking him in the teeth!
I left the truck at work to avoid driving it. They said they'll come pick it up tomorrow and try to figure it out. Should I let them drive it back to their shop? Is it in limp mode? What do I do?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-18-2006, 07:42 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNDIZZLE View Post
I had a remote starter installed today. When they picked up my truck it ran perfect. When they dropped it off the overdrive light was flashing, the truck feels like it's starting in 3rd gear, and I have 4 trouble codes in my HyperPac all transmision related. The jack-off that delivered it to me said that it feels kind of sluggish. He said that sometimes when you put big tires on big heavy trucks they get a little sluggish. I had to refrain from kicking him in the teeth!
I left the truck at work to avoid driving it. They said they'll come pick it up tomorrow and try to figure it out. Should I let them drive it back to their shop? Is it in limp mode? What do I do?
Sounds like they failed to hook up all of the ignition and accessory wires. When those particular wires aren't ALL hooked up the truck will fail to ignite them when you put your key in. Did you try starting the truck without using the remote start? Exactly what kind of truck is it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-18-2006, 09:20 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's an '03 7.3 F250. I tried starting it without the remote start but it still did it. i also cleared the codes, but they came right back. Shift solenoids and torque converter electrical codes. I'm just afraid to let them drive it. It's about 10 milles from their shop to my work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-18-2006, 09:29 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
since the codes started with the instal, i would definately make them attempt to fix it and then send it to the dealer and let them prove it was the fault of the aftrmarket....either way im sure it will prove the install was the problem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-18-2006, 11:05 PM
PIPE HITTER
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What brand of remote start is it? Is it remote start only?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:15 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's a Compustar 2 way pro series. Has alarm option but I just have it as a remote start.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:36 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would have the place check the wiring. Definitely sounds like they failed to hook up the 2nd or 3rd ignition which powers the transmission. The only other thing you might try is disconnecting the battery for about 10 minutes and then try starting it with out using the remote start. If that doesn't fix the problem, they could have damaged the ECU or might have just pulled something loose.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Try checking all of your fuses too, including the ones under the hood.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-19-2006, 06:10 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They came to pick it up at work this morning. Sounds like they forgot to hook up some wires to power the tranny. I'm a little concerned about them driving it from their shop last night. It's about 10 miles uphill. I'm worried that after they hook up the wires and the tranny starts working again, that I'm going to have problems with it. Would driving it up here with the trans in 3rd gear cause any damage to the torque converter? I would imagine they had to throttle it pretty hard to get it up the hill. ???? I feel like my child was just raped!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-21-2006, 06:58 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You can probably damage your TC shaft seals, because the solenoid body is not regulating the correct pressure and you might end with to much pressure inside the TC, check if you have any tranny leaks cause by over pressure. It happened to me and I end up replacing the solenoid body’ lucky for me I didn’t damage the shaft seal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors