Any Houston home a/c repair guys? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2008, 03:05 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,816
Thanks: 6
Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
Any Houston home a/c repair guys?

Damn compressor went out on one of my home units and I'd like to not get bent over like some of the companies around here tend to do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-14-2008, 03:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: GREAT STATE OF TEXAS!!!
Posts: 1,295
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not in this area, but i would like to know of a good one as well....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-14-2008, 04:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Not far from Folsom Prison
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Try changing the Starting Capacitor, they cost about 20.00 and its only 3 wires, Ours goes out every year.
If it doesnt work youre only out 20.00, if it does work, you saved 500.00.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-14-2008, 04:47 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,816
Thanks: 6
Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
Quote:
Originally Posted by planeoldguy View Post
Try changing the Starting Capacitor, they cost about 20.00 and its only 3 wires, Ours goes out every year.
If it doesnt work youre only out 20.00, if it does work, you saved 500.00.
I wish I had been so lucky.
I had one of my buddies come out who is a master electrician and he tested everything and when you remove the compressor from the mix the fan and all works but as soon as you plug the compressor back in it blows the fuse.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-14-2008, 05:22 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sanford, NC
Posts: 458
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I would love to help Rodslinger, but i am to far away, does the unit have any warranty left, normally compressors have 5 to 10 years on them, you can also ohm each terminal to ground and see what you have, they make a start booster that will attach to your start capacitor and it will increase the starting torque that may help, a BFH sometimes works if you hit it a couple times, i have seen that free up stuck compressors. Did you check the wiring at the compressor to make sure it didn't melt one of the terminals in the terminal box on it and hitting ground. Let me know how it comes out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-14-2008, 05:27 AM
haters gonna hate 24/7.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Deer Park, Tx
Posts: 3,804
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodslinger View Post
Damn compressor went out on one of my home units and I'd like to not get bent over like some of the companies around here tend to do.
I know a really good ac & heating tech in the richmond/rosenberg area.... He's pretty good priced too
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-14-2008, 06:24 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,816
Thanks: 6
Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
Quote:
Originally Posted by regor View Post
I would love to help Rodslinger, but i am to far away, does the unit have any warranty left, normally compressors have 5 to 10 years on them, you can also ohm each terminal to ground and see what you have, they make a start booster that will attach to your start capacitor and it will increase the starting torque that may help, a BFH sometimes works if you hit it a couple times, i have seen that free up stuck compressors. Did you check the wiring at the compressor to make sure it didn't melt one of the terminals in the terminal box on it and hitting ground. Let me know how it comes out.

The wires to the compressor looked good and he pulled the box and said it looked good inside. I'm damn sure not against trying the BFH when I get home - any place in particular I should tag the bad boy to free it up?

The warranty on the thing ran our two years ago. I have two NEW Trane units and BOTH of them have gone out within 7 years. EVERYONE remember than when you go to buy a Trane - they SUCK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueovalman14 View Post
I know a really good ac & heating tech in the richmond/rosenberg area.... He's pretty good priced too
I'm just looking for someone honest - I've got the unit torn down and was tempted to pull the compressor myself but I backed off -figured I'd let a pro take it from there.




THANKS for all the help and responses guys!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-14-2008, 07:32 AM
haters gonna hate 24/7.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Deer Park, Tx
Posts: 3,804
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
[QUOTE/]



I'm just looking for someone honest - I've got the unit torn down and was tempted to pull the compressor myself but I backed off -figured I'd let a pro take it from there.




THANKS for all the help and responses guys!!!! [/QUOTE]

he is a real honest and good guy....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-14-2008, 08:15 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,816
Thanks: 6
Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
Looks like I can get an entire new unit for around $700 cash money but I've still got to have someone who can solder the sob in. I know a guy who might be able to do it. Damn I hate this crap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-14-2008, 08:26 AM
Raging Lunatic

 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Euless, Texas
Posts: 8,809
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodslinger View Post
Looks like I can get an entire new unit for around $700 cash money but I've still got to have someone who can solder the sob in. I know a guy who might be able to do it. Damn I hate this crap.
I can do it for the right price (fuel you know from DFW)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors