Tennessee - Powerstrokers - Handgun Permit holders - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2009, 07:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tennessee - Powerstrokers - Handgun Permit holders

My bet is there are quite a few Powerstroke owners who are hunters, gun owners and Tennessee handgun permit holders. If so, this message is for you.

Although I am an attorney in Nashville, I also serve in a volunteer capacity as the Executive Director of the Tennessee firearms Association. One of the hottest topics going in the last 24 hours is the issue of the Governor of Tennessee vetoing a bill relative to permit holders and restaurants. There are similar bills that have passed and which are awaiting his signature or veto on allowing permit holders to transport in vehicles loaded longarms as well as possession of permit holders of their handguns in national, state and local parks.

If you are interested in these issues and in particular in what is happening with the governor's veto, keep reading.

Governor Vetoes HB0962 Restaurant Carry

On May 28, Governor Bredesen, a self-proclaimed 2nd Amendment supporter, vetoed a piece of 2nd Amendment legislation that has taken 15 years to pass in Tennessee and which passed both the House and the Senate with overwhelming majorities.

Governor Bredesen disagreed with the success of this law in 30+ other states. He did so with the backing primarily of appointed - not elected - law enforcement such as relying on old western movies as authority for the proposition that "guns and alcohol don't mix" which seems to be the one if if not the only justifications given by Governor Bredesen for his act of vetoing a bill that the legislature spent a huge amount of time and legislative resources to pass.