04 6.0 Loose Steering? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Suspension & Steering Discuss OEM & aftermarket suspension, lifts, air ride suspension, shocks, steering components, etc.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2014, 05:49 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
04 6.0 Loose Steering?

I just bought a 2004 F250. I believe it has a 4 inch lift. the steering is deffinately really loose. Kinda hard to drive straight down the road. I believe it has as the stock pitman arm on it? I ask because i feel the the tie rods are slanted way to much, and its just putting the wrong tension somewhere? Im new to this, so dont know to much about them. any help? Also, if i grab the tie rods, like the whole assembly, there is a little play. like it will twist back and fourth a half inch or so. Im trying to get pictures up now. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-02-2014, 09:43 AM
Vintage Nakamichi Powered

The drag link and tie rod will twist back and forth in the joints that's normal.
Have someone turn the steering wheel back and forth while you look for any play in the steering parts. Look very close to the pitman arm because there is most likely going to be some play in the steering box.
Then look at the track bar on both ends. They are well known for the bushing getting sloppy at the bolt that connects to the frame. Also the ball joint at the axle gets sloppy.
The drag link also needs to be watched.
Bottom line if the steering box has play tighten it up first. There is a threaded shaft with a Allen socket in it and a jam nut. Play can be adjusted out if it's not worn out. Once that is taken care of look for anything with slop and replace as necc.
Old 04-02-2014, 04:18 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie