Is my Logic Correct?....Probably Not - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Suspension & Steering Discuss OEM & aftermarket suspension, lifts, air ride suspension, shocks, steering components, etc.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2013, 08:57 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is my Logic Correct?....Probably Not

Sorry in advance for the long post, I am new to diesels and truck suspensions so bear with me.....

I have an 05 F350 CCLB w/ 6in "Custom Lift". I bought the truck with the lift already on it and now want to upgrade some of the suspension components. The things I do know about the lift is that I have dual bilstein 5100 up front and the rear suspension is lifted with blocks. My Coil spring up front has a Ready Lift leveling kit spacer on top so my thoughts are that maybe the coil spring is made for a 4 or 5 inch lift and the leveling spacer lifted it up to 6 inchs but I may be wrong. I want to replace the coil spring with a 6 inch lift coil spring(maybe pro comp or the skyjacker soft ride) because I'm trying to achieve a softer ride and want to get rid of the leveling spacer. Is my thoughts correct that removing the leveling spacer will improve ride comfort?(Ive heard that leveling spacers can have a harsh ride)

For the rear, I want to take out the blocks and the current leafs and put in a set of 6 inch lift leaf springs instead of having lift blocks. To top it off, I wanted to upgrade the 5100's to 5160's all the way around.

Now, when i see complete lift kits they say something like 8in front/5.5in rear. Since I'm replacing the leafs, Should I get 6 inch lift leafs or will i need a different size since I want the truck to be level with the front?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-23-2013, 09:31 AM
Compression Ignition Addict