3inch lift on 33's = sloppy steering - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Suspension & Steering Discuss OEM & aftermarket suspension, lifts, air ride suspension, shocks, steering components, etc.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2013, 06:54 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
3inch lift on 33's = sloppy steering

just picked up a 01 excursion like an hour ago ....106k miles ....has a 3 inch lift on a set of knobby 33's ....since im new to the lifted truck world , I was told the tires are what caused the sway ....driving on the hwy , if I hit a bump or caught a grove in the road , it felt like it would steer itself ....also the steering wheel is crooked while driving straight ....I love the way it looks but im concerned to put my kids in the truck for safety reasons , could it be just the tires that cause this? ...anyone ever have a similar prob like this or knows steps to correct it ? I was thinkin start with an alignment
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-23-2013, 07:33 AM

anyone ? im trying to figure out if that's how lifted truck rides with big sidewalled knobby tires or maybe theres something I need to add .....I want it done right ...the guy said something about dropping the pittman arm ....not sure whats involved in that ...not sure if it helps but it looks the lift is a few blocks on top of the leaf springs and white struts with red boot covers
Old 08-23-2013, 07:48 AM

Sounds like you need to have the front end checked out. Possible bad tie rods, ball joints, pitman arm.. or a combination of all of that.

My duramax has doesn't have 33 inch knobby tires so I'm not sure what it feels like with those type of tires.
Old 08-23-2013, 07:50 AM
7.3 4 Ever! Nothing else!

Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Steering Stabalizer?
Old 08-23-2013, 07:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict