measuring caster - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Suspension & Steering Discuss OEM & aftermarket suspension, lifts, air ride suspension, shocks, steering components, etc.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2013, 12:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
measuring caster

so ill start by saying im no suspension expert. ive been reading up lately about how to get these trucks to handle better and one common theme is caster. most say that 4-5 degrees is where you want it. is there a way to measure at home thats accurate? i used the bump stop pads on the axle to take my measurement. if im doing it right im at like 12 degrees negative. also my front springs are not straight up and down, they bow away from the shocks (toward front of vehicle. so if this is right then i think i have pinpointed why im having some steering issues. or maybe im doing it wrong and the pad is at an angle to begin with.
so question is how can you measure caster at home. lift is a n icon 7" with 1" spacer under spring. all supporting equipment that came with the icon kit is installed. thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-15-2013, 01:22 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Would love to know as well to try and check out my truck. Hope someone can give you the answer. I am tired of the bump steer lol
Old 08-16-2013, 10:23 AM

all the talk about caster on this site and nobody knows how to measure?
Old 08-16-2013, 10:26 AM

You could probably use an Iphone app and stick it on your front cover of your diff...
Old 08-16-2013, 10:31 AM

Another reason I am a big fan of the OUO ALA arms. They will get your caster in check! Plus they will keep your steering in check as well since your steering on your axle is designed around a radius arm setup. I know they are expensive, but you get what you pay for in this industry.