Pro comp traction bars install question.. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Suspension & Steering Discuss OEM & aftermarket suspension, lifts, air ride suspension, shocks, steering components, etc.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2012, 08:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 177
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Pro comp traction bars install question..

Picked up a used set of Pro comp traction bars. I called a place to get a quote on getting them installed... I was told you have to remove the fuel tank to install them??

I was hoping this would be an easy hr or so job for someone with a lift.

Can someone give me a link, or some info on how to correctly install these things?

Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-06-2012, 08:48 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
traction bars

put mine on last month.. no problem at all.. i even have a titan 51 gallon fuel tank.. didnt have to remove it.. did you get the bolts that bolt into the block on the leaf springs? you can find them at the hardware store.. use a allen head bolt.. good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-06-2012, 08:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 177
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
He gave me all the bolts that were used on his truck? My U bolts have plenty of threads left also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-06-2012, 02:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
bars

the bolts im talking about has to be bolted to your lift block, its longer so it gos through the plates that you put on top of the axle. the lift blocks has a bolt that gos into the axle.. so the pin or bolt will be through the lift block and the traction plates and then through the plate on top of the axle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-09-2012, 08:49 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fallon, Nv
Posts: 2,402
Thanks: 52
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 415dad View Post
the bolts im talking about has to be bolted to your lift block, its longer so it gos through the plates that you put on top of the axle. the lift blocks has a bolt that gos into the axle.. so the pin or bolt will be through the lift block and the traction plates and then through the plate on top of the axle.
It's a 7/16ths bolt that goes through the block if the alignment pin/head isn't at least 1/2". Without this 1/2" of protrusion, the block will not properly locate the axle. Essentially, the extra threads you have on your u-bolts are meaningless without this. I had to buy new bolts for my leaf spring packs because I don't use blocks on my lift.

http://static.summitracing.com/globa...st_5_31_06.pdf

Instruction rule!

As far as fuel tank drop, drill carefully! It's tight when you are securing the mounting hardware on the left side, but do-able.

Hopefully these pics are clear enough to get the point across of how they go in.
Attached Thumbnails
Pro comp traction bars install question..-imag0247.jpg   Pro comp traction bars install question..-imag0248.jpg   Pro comp traction bars install question..-axle-plate-1.jpg   Pro comp traction bars install question..-axle-plate-2.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-09-2012, 08:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,290
Thanks: 69
Thanked 199 Times in 189 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
they sell drill stops that go on the outside of your drill bit

I also have a Titan 51 and i had to drill a hole in the end of some of the bolts
then fed Tie wire up through the frame hole pushed the tie wire into the small hole I drilled in the bolt and lowered them down into the frame hole

Mine are Fabtechs so a little different ,, just watch for lines ETC on the other side
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-09-2012, 06:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 177
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Thats for the help guys. That clears it up for me big time! Im glad to know the tank does not need to come out do to this job. Now I just need to find the time to tackle it!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors