Steering Stabilizer Shock Quality....? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Suspension & Steering Discuss OEM & aftermarket suspension, lifts, air ride suspension, shocks, steering components, etc.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2010, 05:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Steering Stabilizer Shock Quality....?

I'm fairly new to the straight front axle lifts and stuff, I've come from 1/2 tons and have never had much of a need or desire for a dual stabilizer. Anyways, I'm looking to get a dual stabilizer(I think) because I get a pretty decent shimmy in the steering wheel at certain points while driving. Mainly when I'm going at high speed and hit a bump.

My main question is this:
Is the quality of the shock used in these stabilizers really that much of an issue that I should pay the extra to get the more expensive shock?

I'd assume that all the shocks that are sold in the kits are made for the stabilizers are made specifically for the application of being a dampener, but am I wrong there?

I guess I just don't see where I should pay $500 for a stabilizer versus a $200 one when all I'm getting is a slight shimmy. But I'm willing to if its actually necessary...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.... Thanks guys...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-14-2010, 05:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor