Broke track bar bolt - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Suspension & Steering Discuss OEM & aftermarket suspension, lifts, air ride suspension, shocks, steering components, etc.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2010, 05:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nicholasville,KY
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Broke track bar bolt

I was double checking my track bar bolts tonight and snapped the one in the drop bracket. I don't have a 400 FT LB torque wrench, so I just used a 3/4" rachet and cheater bar. Everyone always told me it took a lot to get that torqued properly, but didn't seem to take much tonight to twist it off. I don't know if Ford stocks those or not. If not, hopefully Tractor Supply has a Grade 8 one I can use to replace it with. I was suppose to go on an overnight dirtbike trip tomorrow with buddies, but guess I'll be at home fixing my truck. Will it be OK using a non-stock bolt in there, or does it need to a be a specific one?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-15-2010, 04:52 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would think it would be ok if you replace it with Grade 8 hardware. Definitely don't drive it. Steering wheel left...truck goes right...weeeeeeeeeeee!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-15-2010, 05:22 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Beaumont TX
Posts: 3,802
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Grade 8 is fine to replace with....thats whats in mine with my kit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-15-2010, 05:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nicholasville,KY
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Well, I went by the Ford dealership this morning first thing and found out they didn't have one. Said the shop in the next county over had 3 in stock. So off I went. $17 later I got back home. Had to use my old nut, because no one had them in stock. Tightened this one up good, but not near what I did before. I asked the dealership if they had a torque wrench big enough to torque that bolt, and they acted like they didn't. So apparently Ford around here just tightens them to whatever.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors