Truck / Tractor Pull Conversation - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Sled Pulling How-to, FAQs

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2007, 12:43 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Truck / Tractor Pull Conversation

Ok everyone this will be a little off the beaten path...

Went to a Truck / Tractor pull Sat. night here in Tennessee and they had a couple of exhibition (stock- diesel) new trucks do a pull at the end (a Dodge-Cummings and a Chevy-Duramax)

Well as you might guess I got a little interested as they are doing it again in Sept and this time as a "class" of its own. I have a 06 F350 Harley Davidson edition that I have added an air-raid intake, Edge II programmer and waiting on deliverly of a 4" exhaust (Gus )

I am not a mechanic other than the basics and have more money that sense I beleive to even entertain the idea

My questions: (Hoping the true experts will help me work through this)

1. Watching the Dodge and Chevy (Chevy pulled further)...as the Dodge had trouble getting the sled started first attempt...given the need to build speed as you go down the track, would you use 4x4 or 4x4 low?

2. With the 20" rims of the Harley edition, would going to a smaller rim size be an advantage? (would have to put on tires that have a little more grip, but not too much...as I need to spin the tire some)

3. Should I abandon the thought all together?

4. anyone know about the wiring for the kill switch in the back?

5. Other advice??

Thanks in advance,
Chas
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2007, 12:58 PM
Banned

Headstuds!!!!!!
Old 06-11-2007, 03:03 PM
Is it even worth it???

Send a message via AIM to ABOBB Send a message via Yahoo to ABOBB
Without knowing more about your truck I can't answer all of your questions.. but I'll do the best I can with a guess or two.