One HID out, one working,....... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Retro-Solutions

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2011, 04:26 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,563
Thanks: 57
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
One HID out, one working,.......

I just noticed that i have my passenger side headlight out. My drivers side works fine. I just had them on last night and they worked fine. noticed this tonight.

I checked all my harness connections and ground points. all are fine. or they seem to be.

I am going to a chapter G2G tommorw and hopefully can diagnose this and fix it.

How can I tell if a bulb is blown? I was really careful and didnt put my hands on the bulbs.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-11-2011, 04:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Posts: 996
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can you hear the ballast buzz on the side that the bulb is out? If not your ballast could be out or its a wiring issue. If you do hear it buzz then its prolly the bulb. Idt you can look at HID's and tell if they are blown but I'm not sure. Try wiggling the wires on the back side of the bulb too, my cousins had a loose connection between the bulb and the wires. Good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-11-2011, 04:35 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Same thing happens to me. I've heard if you wire a relay up it will solve the problem as i guess it sucks to much juice. Have yet to try the relay tho.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-11-2011, 04:39 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,563
Thanks: 57
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks Randall!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-11-2011, 04:40 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,563
Thanks: 57
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadracer570 View Post
Same thing happens to me. I've heard if you wire a relay up it will solve the problem as i guess it sucks to much juice. Have yet to try the relay tho.

I already have a relay on the system. it came prewired with the kit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-11-2011, 04:42 PM
My 6OH Hates Me


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nexus of the Universe
Posts: 24,731
Thanks: 8
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Operator error

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-11-2011, 04:44 PM
Still Alive



 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 27,571
Thanks: 5
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to westcoaststrokin
Sounds like a wiring problem Nick. Something is loose somewhere.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-11-2011, 04:48 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,563
Thanks: 57
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah, I will check on it tommrow.


Hey mike, BITE ME
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-11-2011, 04:51 PM
My 6OH Hates Me


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nexus of the Universe
Posts: 24,731
Thanks: 8
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC SuperTech View Post
yeah, I will check on it tommrow.


Hey mike, BITE ME
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-12-2011, 11:12 AM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,563
Thanks: 57
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Got the problem. Bad ground. Didn't know why it decided to show now? But ir works

Sent from my SCH-I500 using AutoGuide App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors