Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Budget 6.0 Build.

4K views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  cosbysweater 
#1 ·
I'm new here on the site so let me do a brief intro, I have been a diesel tech for Ford at a designated truck center for going on 5 years and have always had a thing for the 6.0. Due to the fact it is a Ford commercial truck center i do work on just about everything, Powerstroke, Cummins, Duramax, blah blah blah. I always come back to the 6.0s, they are just about the best bang for the buck you can get out there so I started searching. Now although im a diesel tech, most of my modding experience comes from 4cyl turbo cars. However i need something to tow with and my Toyota just ain't gonna cut it. That being said a truck comes in for a issue, it has a thumping noise through the intake, and lack of power. Obviously there is only a few things that cause this and the customer stated he did not want to dump more then 1k into it to fix it. I jump in the truck, pop the hood and crank it from the passenger side, the thump is nasty, I pull the oil filter and its completely full of metal. Get the customer out there to show him the issue, I tell him due to the amount of oil in the filter, I am willing to bet money it munched a lifter and destroyed the cam. He starts calling the tow truck and I tell him I will give him 1k for the truck, he goes home and gets the paperwork. SOLD. This is where the fun starts. I have been keeping a running tally on the rebuild and modification process and so far I am at 4k flat and the engine is done and ready to be dropped In. Here is pictures of the beater and a build sheet below.

Engine removal process and teardown

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)