Any electricians in house. Ive got a question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Off-Topic Discussion of All Non-Related Topics

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2013, 08:15 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,291
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Any electricians in house. Ive got a question

Need to run a 50 amp 240v range outlet. Run is gonna be 75ft. Is 6ga wire enough?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-09-2013, 08:22 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Foresthill CA
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am no electrician, let's get the out of the way. I have ran 220 for both my range and HVAC units. range was 50' and the HVAC was over 75' from the breakers. I simply ran romex to the breaker and used a 220 breaker.

I have had no issue with each. oh, when you attach the wire run, Cal code i guess is every 4' not every 4", Opps. My wire run is holding the house together. LOL
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-09-2013, 06:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 2,556
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am licenced electrician... 6ga fine for 50amps even 60 amps up to 100'. Derating for distance doesn't come into play untill over 100'.

Sent from my SCH-I200 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-09-2013, 07:00 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,291
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
That's what I figured about the de rating. It's been to long though since I've done it


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-09-2013, 07:00 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,291
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Thanks man


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-09-2013, 07:00 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,291
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Now if I could find someone local with smaller than 500ft rolls


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-09-2013, 07:26 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 598
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lets work through it!

Using AWG 6 (assuming stranded THHN?) Code reference T 310.15(B)(16) tells us this wire is rated to 75 amps at 90*C, however since temperature ratings of termination lugs is unknown we must use "worst-case-scenario" column of 55 amps.

The formula to figure voltage drop is as follows...
VD= (2 x wire length x Amps x copper Ohms per 1000') / circular mils

2 x 75 x 50 x 12.9
26240


Punch in the numbers and you get roughly 3.7v drop. 240v-3.7=236.3v. Divide these numbers to come up with a percentage and we get... 1.6%

NEC requires us to maintain less than 3% voltage drop on branch circuit conductors. While guessing "is it good" will ballpark you, doing the math and knowing you are legal and within engineered limits is best. It covers your butt in case a building inspector hassles you or insurance ever blames "wiring".
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-10-2013, 06:23 PM
Delivers Pizzas For Fun!
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cecil county MD
Posts: 5,827
Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
u could also use #6 aluminum SER cable. (service entrance round) u can use #8 copper romex. any local supply house should be able to cut that for you. the #8 is much more expensive tho.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-10-2013, 06:25 PM
Smoke Eater


 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chillicothe Ohio
Posts: 1,303
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to fdchief
will work just fine...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-10-2013, 07:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 2,556
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Spend the money use the better product... get copper. I never used alum wire for my cc customers.

Sent from my SCH-I200 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors