GPS Conversion Software (Free) with Directions!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Off-Topic Discussion of All Non-Related Topics

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2009, 07:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
GPS Conversion Software (Free) with Directions!!!

Well as some of you know I work with GPS for a living. And over the years I have had to work with some really crappy software, but I have found a program which is free, that has literally made my life of converting points a breeze.

this program is called GPSBABEL and you can download it for free at this site, GPSBabel Downloads
(look for the supported version of your choice)

This software will let you move points from many different brands of GPS units into programs such as Auto cad, Google Earth, (Igage) All Topo Maps, Garmin software, Lowrance software, Delorme software, Excel files, word documents... the choices are endless.

I mainly use this for Google Earth(GE)... I can make trails and waypoints on existing roads/ washes in the aerial photos of GE using their line tools. save the information as a .KML file and convert it to a .GDB for Garmin and then use the software that came with my garmin to import my work.

Like wise I can use the software to do the reverse. Here's the easy steps

Step 1
Open GE, select your desired points.

Step 2
Save your points in a selected .KML file

Step 3
Open GPSBABEL and select GE KML as your source file type

Step 4
Select your output file type, mine happens to be .GDB for Garmin users you will have the same

Step 5
Select your input file by clicking on the GOLDEN file button on the right side of the program box
(sorry it go cut off in my pictures)

Step 6