83 6.9 idi hesitation and stalling - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Non-Powerstroke General Discussion General Discussion for 6.9L and 7.3L IDI (Non-Powerstroke) Engines

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 11:16 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
83 6.9 idi hesitation and stalling

I'm new to diesel and to these boards, let me start by appologising if there is a more appropriate forum to have posted in.

I recently aqquried a 83 6.9, the truck is really an 83 f250 standard cab with a duelly long bed and duelly rear end. This truck was origionally towing a speed boat and the rear is geared for towing. It's got a 4 speed manuel and two tanks.

I'm new to diesel and to these boards, let me start by apologizing if there is a more appropriate forum to have posted in.

I recently acquired a 83 6.9, the truck is really an 83 f250 standard cab with a dully long bed and dully rear end. This truck was originally towing a speed boat and the rear is geared for towing. It's got a 4 speed manual and two tanks.

Now this truck sat for 6 years but ran great when it was taken off the road (I've driven the truck years ago while it was still driven regularly). As i went to put it back on the road i manged to throw two fresh batteries in and get it started.

Long story short the truck starts and runs but it doesn't run right, sometimes it shuts off on its own, other times it will idle all day but will stall if I blip the throttle. If I gently ease into the throttle and gently let off the throttle the truck wont die but throttle response is extremely laggy.