Helena mechanics - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2012, 10:33 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Helena mechanics

Hey Helena area powerstrokers - who are you using for routine and emergency mechanical work in or around Helena? I took my new to me 2005 F-250 to G&J to do the EGR Delete/Oil cooler, in part because my work allowed for it, and in part because I didn't seem many options here.

But I wondering who anyone is using in the valley or close by?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-13-2012, 10:44 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 5 reviews
How do you feel about doing it yourself??? It is a weekend project for a total NEWB (what I was when I did the egr/oil cooler a year ago)
Old 09-13-2012, 11:13 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

I actually know much more about this truck and diesel engines than I ever did about any of my gassers - so that said, I knew very little, in a practical sense, about my gassers. Definitely interested in working on my own truck and have and will continue to do that, but I lack the mechanical foundation of knowledge to tear down the engine. The electrical stuff - replacing the paddle mirrors I can handle with help from the internets. Changing the oil, filters no problem. But other than my lack of a real mechanic instinct, I also just don't have a foundation of knowledge.

For example, when G&J did the egr delete and oil cooler, I asked them to clean the turbo. They found the unison ring was bad. I don't know how the clean the turbo or identify the unison ring. Much less whether it is bad.

On top of that I have no garage, and this is a daily driver. And I work 6 days a week. So other that knowledge, a place, time and a strong mechanical sense (which I also lack) I'm all for doing it myself.