Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Back To Diesel

2K views 29 replies 24 participants last post by  straycat 
#1 ·
Hello all, Noob here. Going back to a Ford diesel after a two year screw up. Drove the tires off a '94 F-350 7.3T until '95. Went with a Cheby 1500 gas and hate the gutless feeling. Looking at either a 250 or 350, 4X4 Lariat or KR, price will be the factor. I found this site to have some pretty informed members so here I am.
My first Q is whether to get an end of year '07 6.0 or '08 6.4. The jury is still out but reliability is important as well as mileage. I pull a 23' ski boat or a 28' GN 5th wheel RV. Any help?
Thanks in advance. CHIP

#2 ·
Hi there! Welcome to the .ORG!!! We are definately glad to have you here!

As far as the trucks you are looking at - and price being a factor, I would go with the '07 as Ford is having a model year clearance right now - but that may also be just because I think the '08's are f'ugly. And it seems they got the bugs worked out of the 6.0 and it gets relatively good mileage from what I've seen on the boards.

Do you have kiddos? If so, a KR will only have 4 bucket seats where as the Lariat will have a bench in the back and do you pull the 5th wheel and boat at the same time? :) If not a 250 will do...

Again - welcome to the .org!!!

#3 ·
I'd go with the 07. I wouldn't think about the new 08 (personal choice) until a couple of years into production to get the bugs worked out.
Also WELCOME TO THE SITE!

#4 ·
I only pull, or will be pulling one at a time. I've just bought the RV and the 1/2 T is strained. Kids? Yea, I have two but they are at Texas A&M, so not normally passengers. I'm leaning towards the '07 KR due to the comments and reputation of the early 6.0 and fear of something new. Sure it's warranted, but downtime $ucks. They don't cover MY time in a guarantee.

#8 ·