Just bought my first diesel - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Introductions This is the place that you introduce yourself

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2007, 09:43 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just bought my first diesel

Hello, I just bought a 2001 Ford F350 Crew Cab Long Bed. It has the 7.3l in it.

Does somebody know how I can check to see if it is chipped or has be reprogrammed from factory. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-11-2007, 10:30 PM
Is it even worth it???



 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lex KY
Posts: 9,093
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ABOBB Send a message via Yahoo to ABOBB
Welcome to Powerstroke.org

and
Congrats on the new Rig

There will be someone along soon who will be able to answer your question much better than I can.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-11-2007, 11:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Aiea, Hawaii
Posts: 578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
to the forum
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-11-2007, 11:50 PM
im fat and ugly


 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 15,687
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
welcome aboard, sorry im a 6.0 guy myself but stick around you get yur answer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-12-2007, 07:00 AM
Still Alive



 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 27,581
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to westcoaststrokin
to the ORG!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-12-2007, 08:29 AM
Conservative and Proud


 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
WELCOME AND CONGRATS ON THE NEW RIG!

Sorry I can't help with the question..... A tech should be on soon!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-12-2007, 08:45 AM
CW4 Retired, US Army

 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Alexandria, AL
Posts: 612
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Welcome Aboard !!!!!!!!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-12-2007, 08:50 AM
Strokin' In Dixie-Land
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy, Alabama
Posts: 2,393
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Welcome to POWERSTROKE.ORG
And Congratulations on your PSD
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-12-2007, 09:48 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
howdy and
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-12-2007, 10:15 AM
<<---"Shadow"---

 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Georgetown, SC
Posts: 5,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to sea71
Congratulations on your new truck, and WELCOME to the site!! Glad to have you on here!! I dont know anything about factory reprogramming, but as far as a chip is concerned, It would be visible on the back of the computer. Just guessing your computer is in the same place as my 02, it will be located left of the E-brake pedal in its own enclosure. (approximately 10x10 inches).There is a black plastic plug on one end of the computer once you get it out. That plug has your computer code on it. If the plug is gone and there is a (chip) in the slot with a wire coming from it, then you have your answer right there. Someone with a lil more knowledge will be along shortly to help you more.

Here is a link to a video on INSTALLING a chip, but you can view it to find out how to remove your computer to check for a chip(or install one at a later date!!)

http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/7-3...-new-post.html

Last edited by sea71; 05-12-2007 at 10:19 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors