Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

A diesel newbie, but not new to Turbo's

323 views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  EmilyJoness 
#1 ·
Dear the ORG,

My name is Lars and I build tiny turbo setups for tiny cars. I come from the land of miataturbo.net where I am an admin. I build turbo setups for Mazda Miata's as a side business to a regular white collar career. For years I have needed a tow vehicle to take my race car to and from the track. In the past I have had a 97 F-150 Triton, and a 96 E-350. Both were pretty crappy and I was never happy with either. What I have wanted for a long time was a 7.3L diesel E-350. I could never find one in my price range, or in decent condition, or within a reasonable distance from where I live. I have an event coming up at the beginning of April that I needed to tow my car to and supplies and such. With my recent tax return and some savings I decided I should get me another tow vehicle to use for a few years. I had mostly decided on a 1/2ton Suburban/Yukon/Escalade. After a good amount of searching I found one that I wanted to buy. Then a friend linked me to a few 99-03 manual F-350's in Knoxville. They were actually reasonably priced which was awesome. As looking locally trucks seemed to go for about 3-4x as much as a van, and sleeping in a truck at a race track is harder to do then a van, so I had not really planned on ever getting a truck.

I called the people and one of the guys sounded really good over the phone, could answer the questions I had, and seemed like a genuine dude. He talked about what he had done to the truck, problems with it, and other things. The truck is a 99 7.3L F-350 SD dully. It is a bit more then I really need, but will tow anything I put behind it so that is good. As long term I want to get an enclosed trailer that is 18'-28' long.