good or bad? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
fordpower21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: bay area
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
good or bad?

Iím thinking of running a programmer on my truck this weekend. I wanted to get the message boards opinions to see if itís a good idea to run a programmer without any gauges?


thanks.
fordpower21
fordpower21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 05:00 PM
a truck
 
Matt P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 13,142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
First off, what year, engine, any other mods, etc?

03 king ranch w/ a cummins
Matt P is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 05:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canuck-land
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It would be good to know what type of truck you have, but IMO you need to see what's going on with a set of gauges even if you're takin it easy with the truck.. you never know what can come up

'09 F-350
'93 Mustang LX

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


FORD BLUE
big_chris is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 05:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
powerstrokinit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm pretty sure that any body on the org would say that it's not a good idea to run a programmer without any gauges, better to be safe then messing your truck up.

Early 99 f250, automatic, 3 inch dp, 4 inch exhaust, autometer gauges, torque coverter lockup switch, boost fooler, zoodad, 2.7 in leveling kit, 3 inch rear blocks, mickey thompson wheels, Dp tuned
powerstrokinit is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 05:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Raul@Stealth Automotive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,359
Thanks: 23
Thanked 30 Times in 17 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
dont matter what year you got... i would not run any tuner without gauges


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Raul@Stealth Automotive is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 05:13 PM
wriott
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
i agree with everyone above
post #7 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
fordpower21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: bay area
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2001 f250 7.3 all stock, in a few weeks I'm doing doing some mod's- intake and exhaust
fordpower21 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 05:26 PM
a truck
 
Matt P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 13,142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dont put on the programmer, I wouldnt risk it, especially all stock

what programmer exactly are you thinking of putting on anyways?

03 king ranch w/ a cummins
Matt P is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
fordpower21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: bay area
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So, I decided to get gauges first, and then play around with my trucks hp.

Thanks for the advice.
fordpower21 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 04-27-2009, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
fordpower21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: bay area
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is my first diesel truck. I was wondering what steps I should take before applying the programmer?
fordpower21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome