How long do PSD's last? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2008, 11:58 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question How long do PSD's last?

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum. I am new to PSD's and their capabilities and etc. I am currently looking at a 99' F250 PSD 7.3L 4x4 with 186k miles on it and it looks very well maintained. No rust/Dents with added features such as a brush guard, brand new tires, lifted a few inches, and it is a 1 owner with most service records available showing he took pretty well care of it. He traded it in for a newer diesel and the dealer is asking 9700 dollars for it. KBB shows it higher but I am mostly curious beings I have never owned a diesel, or a reputable Ford PSD, how long is the life expectancy of a 7.3L PSD Engine? I know around the 200k Mark is the breaking point in most gasoline fed engines, and it makes me wonder if it'd be alright to step into 9700 and have only a few thousand miles of worthiness. I came back to ford after having a DSM that has done nothing but fall apart. I had a ranger back in school that had 300k miles on it and still ran like a champ.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-01-2009, 12:18 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Well we run trucks at work with over 250k miles on them if thats any indicator, my truck has 130k my old truck was at 355k before a cam bearing failed on it, its still on the road with a new owner BTW, all 7.3s. Its a damn fine engine if taken care of properly and you can mod it to your hearts content since it is a fairly straight forward design. 9700 is definitely worth it in my eyes.
Old 01-01-2009, 12:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie