1995 F350 coolant choices - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2013, 07:46 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1995 F350 coolant choices

I have very recently purchased my first diesel. It is a 1995 F350 crew cab 4x4 automatic.
I have been doing various maintenance items on the vehicle and have come to the coolant.
Reading on-line, there appears to be issues with corrosion in the engine caused by "cavitation" which typically has been remedied by using a coolant additive.

I have also read that there is a new extended life coolant which does not require the additive.

I am a chemist by profession and am very interested in the chemistry associate with these coolants.

It seems that the key component in the additive is nitrate ion which needs to be tested for on a regular basis.

For the extended life cool the key component is Potassium 2-ethylhexanoate (see CHEVRON DELO EXTENDED LIFE COOLANT/ANTIFREEZE PG msds)
https://cglapps.chevron.com/msdspds/...&docFormat=PDF

I have also read on-line that you cannot use the GM Dexcool coolant in these diesel engines. However, if you look at the msds sheet for Dexcool (see DEX-COOLŽ Extended Life Antifreeze/Coolant msds)
https://media.toro.com/Documents/safety/104-8606.pdf

it also includes only Potassium 2-ethylhexanoate as the active ingredient. Dexcool also includes diethylene glycol but that chemical serves the same function as ethylene glycol which both Delo and Dexcool contain and would not affect corrosion.

My question is has anyone used Dexcool in their early 7.3 powerstroke engines since it is much more readily available than the Delo coolant?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-04-2013, 08:21 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie