What are PMR's, or powdered metal in general? Unique answers here. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
General Diesel Discussion Discuss everything else pertaining to Diesel Pickups.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2013, 01:39 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What are PMR's, or powdered metal in general? Unique answers here.

So to start off, I am a Quality Assurance tech for a company that deals with powdered metal, something I didn't even know existed when I started there. It's a very interesting process. We make gear carriers for GM, Ford, Toyota, washing machine parts, used to make main bearing caps ( big ones probably big diesel), and we make a carrier for the new ZF 8speed auto that Chrysler is getting.

These may be transmission parts ( mostly) but the powdered metal process for the rods in the late 7.3's and newer Ford motors, will be about the same just different mixes. I just figured maybe taking the time to show what the PMR's actually are, and why companies are using powdered metal might answer some questions.

So it starts off in big hoppers, looking like sand in various colours of black... I forgot to get a picture, and get's mixed according to whatever recipe of the batch is, different parts are mixed different, creating different alloy's.

First picture I started is the press. The powder is blown in and compacted into the shape. This is where a big advantage is over casting. Some parts ( like the new ZF) are compacted to tolerances as low as 0.005mm consistently.

This part goes in the GM 6L80, the output carrier. It's the part I chose to follow the whole process as I know it the best.

That's 2 of the 3 pieces required to make this, they are assembled and weld pellets put in specific locations. This part completed has 9.

After assembly they are ready to go into the belt furnace.